thesartorialist.com

• Ambasadiani MI1-e
  • StellaStellaStellaStellaStellaStella

Inviato 16 January 2012 - 21:00:45

Immagine inviata

Current profession?

Photographer

First job? 

I was a dog walker in high school. It was great because I love dogs and lived in Brooklyn, on the edge of Prospect Park, so I had an excuse to walk through that beautiful park every day!

Do you have any heirlooms that you cherish?

My mother’s gold earring from Africa– It’s a large detailed elephant head. The post goes through the back of your ear instead of the front, curving down so it dangles perfectly. I’ve never seen anything as beautiful in a shop. She had bought only one.

Most memorable gift you’ve received?

My sister gave (well, lent) me a [color= #c33500;][color= #c33500;]Land 195 polaroid camera[/color][/color] which I love using! I’m a photographer and collect film cameras.

I recorded a cover of a [color= #c33500;][color= #c33500;]Lee Hazlewood[/color][/color] song for my father’s birthday, which was the most fun but time consuming gift I’ve given to someone else.

Immagine inviataWhose photographic style has influenced your own?

I think [color= #c33500;][color= #c33500;]Vivian Maier[/color][/color] is amazing. She hid her photographs her whole life until a man found them, purely by chance, in a box at a garage sale. She wasn’t shooting for anyone but herself. I wish sometimes I approached things that purely.  With photography more digitally based now, the science of it has become less of a focus for many photographers.

My father is a photographer and I’ve watched him on shoots since I was very small.  We actually lived in his photo studio in New York for years where I was exposed to so many different people. I shoot with film, and he’s very strict about it, encouraging digital, but I think he uses Photoshop too much… so I guess it goes both ways!!

Which shop could you spend the whole day in?